Holy Cow, it’s really New Year’s Eve.  This year went by in a hurry. That tends to happen more as you get older. I don’t really like to think about it.

The weather has been a bit weird lately in Central Florida. The warm days in December made it tough to get in the “spirit” of the season. The cool in the last week has been a nice change for most. The chilly night at the Champs Sports Bowl was GREAT football weather. If you have never made it to the Citrus Bowl for that game, try to get there next year. It’s really a nice experience. It’s a night game,  the crowd is much smaller than for the New Year’s Day game, and the teams are glad to be there. I’ve been to 4 of them in the last 9 years and I’ve always had a blast.

 The forecast for Friday, for  the Capital One Bowl, looks like it might be a bit stormy. I’m betting that most of the rain action takes place before the 1 p.m. kickoff. That will make for a wet tailgate, but a drier game. Of course, the LSU crowd has been soaked lately in their home state… I don’t think the rain will bother them one bit. The Penn State folks will think the rain is a joke compared to the snow and frozen tundra back home in State College… I don’t think the rain will slow them down either. This game looks like a good one. I’ll be watching from my sofa.

Tomorrow

 Did I mention it’s going to be colder? Check out the extended forecast.

Next 8 Days

Those lows to start next week are a little on the chilly side.

Let’s talk Blue Moon.  When I was a child, my grandfather used to always use the phrase “Once in a Blue Moon.” I always took it to mean something that hardly ever happened. I think most people do. But in the world of science there is controversy over what it means. (Did you expect any different? If you can’t agree on what temperature scale to use, global warming, or where to hold next year’s meeting, how can you be expected to agree on what is, or is not,  a Blue Moon? But I digress…)

Here’s the deal: It’s become part of pop culture to refer to a second full moon in one calender month as a Blue Moon. I like the term and tend to use it. Tonight is the second full moon in the month of December. I’m going with a Blue Moon for New Year’s Eve. I like the term, I enjoy explaining it, and it gets people talking about the moon, the stars, weather, and all that jazz. I like anything that is interesting enough to take attention away from video games for a moment and get kids to look at the sky. So tonight, look up at the full moon. Take a moment to point it out and explain, “It’s a Blue Moon guys…look!”

Of course, not everyone likes my Blue Moon idea. The guys at Sky and Telescope are kind of a kill joy. They prefer to keep with the technical definition of the moon having a bluish color. That normally happens when particles in the atmosphere filter the moonlight and make it appear blue. That can happen when there is a huge volcanic eruption and the dust spreads around the globe. I have never seen that… I remember great sunsets back in ’92 after the Mt. Pinatubo eruption. But I don’t recall a blue looking moon.

 I love Sky and Telescope magazine. But I’m keeping my Blue Moon. Gives me hope for 2010.

Happy New Year!

