Today does NOT feel like February (it’s supposed to be  72 and dry this time of year).  January went by in a hurry. We spent most of the time trying to survive the worst freeze in 7 years. We had a sleet event one Saturday, plants dying all over the place, and more tornado warnings than I can remember in any January. Can’t say I’m sorry to see January end.

Let’s talk football! For me the season really ended when ‘Bama rolled Texas for the BCS title. I’m a college football junkie. I seriously can’t get enough of it. I like small college ball, I like  big college ball. I like the SEC, I like the Big 10. I LOVE to see the old Ohio Valley Conference football teams. If two teams are going to line up and  hit it… I’ll sit down and watch.  If I can get to the game in person, even better. With all that said I do follow the NFL. I just don’t like it as much as I LOVE college football. Part of my problem is that the Miami Dolphins are my first love in the NFL. Do I have to tell you how looooong it’s been since the Dolphins were a threat to play in a Super Bowl?

Do you know the name of the stadium outside of Miami where the Super Bowl will be played (Sunday night on WKMG Local 6)? I would have said Land Shark Stadium. I would have been wrong. Right after the “Fed-Ex Orange Bowl” the naming rights for the stadium expired. It is Land Shark no more. Now the stadium is called “Sun Life Stadium“. It has nothing to do with Florida being the Sunshine State. Sun Life is a Canadian financial services company.  Changing the name of the stadium is part of corporate america. It’s all about the dollars. It’s the 7th name change for the stadium since it opened in 1987.  Am I the only one who thinks this is crazy? I propose we go back to calling it Joe Robbie Stadium. I think it’s kind of our own curse of the Bambino. I don’t see the Dolphins making it back to the Super Bowl until Joe Robbie is restored to his proper place of honor. How much would it hurt to include his name in the title? Why not call it “Joe Robbie Sun Life Stadium”? I wish I were kidding. I’m not.  I know the money trumps all sense of what is right. But I’m still in love with the Dolphins of old. I’m old school and want to honor Joe Robbie. I want Don Shula there all the time… and I want the Dolphins to win more than they lose! I’ll stop now.

Let’s talk weather. Did you know this is the 10th time the Miami area will host the Super Bowl? It’s a record.  The last time the game was played in Miami was 2/4/07. Peyton Manning lead the Colts to a win over the Bears. (For the record, it was called Dolphin Stadium that year.) It rained that day. Usually February is very dry. This winter has been wet because we are in an El Nino pattern. So, is it going to rain this weekend in Miami?  Right now the weather looks wet on Saturday in Miami, but drying out for game day. It actually looks like it will be breezy and turning cooler for game night.  Fans from Florida will find it chilly. Fans from Indy will find it nice and warm. For Saints fans the weather will feel like home. 

Weekend

Keep in mind if the system slows down we’d move those rain chances over to Sunday. No one wants that. Let’s keep hoping for a dry Super Bowl.

Here in Orlando things look a little wet for today and tonight.Orlando

 This is good rain that is coming in calm. No worries about twisters or high winds. Hard to complain about a gentle rain.

I’ll be back tomorrow with more thoughts on the Super Bowl forecast.

Somehow I have to choose which team to pull for. It’s hard for me this year. I like both teams and the Dolphins aren’t involved (no kidding, right?)

Stay dry!

TS

