“Well, it’s Groundhog Day… again.”

That’s just one of about 100 of my favorite lines from the classic movie “Groundhog Day.” I think I would have loved it even if I was not a weather geek. Bill Murray almost always makes me smile. Except for “Lost in Translation.” Didn’t get that one. And I won’t ever see it again to give it a second chance. “Groundhog Day,” however, always brings me to a stop. No matter what I’m doing, if I run across it on cable, I stop and watch.

The whole Groundhog forecasting thing is a German tradition. You can read all about it on the website of the official Punxsutawney Groundhog Club. I like Punxsutany Phil, but it is all kind of silly. Today I placed our giant stuffed groundhog on the front porch in Windermere.

 I called him Windermere Willie. Hallmark Cards sent Willie to me on Groundhog Day in 1996, while I was in Detroit.  But from here on out I’m calling him Windermere Willie. For the record, Punxsutawney Phil saw his shadow this morning. That means six more weeks of winter. Windermere Willie did NOT see his shadow. It was already raining in Orlando. And for most of us, six more weeks of a typical Florida winter would be fine. Just as long as it doesn’t freeze anymore.

Rain this afternoon will slow down. We will be much drier tomorrow. You can track the radar at JustWeather.com

The next system that will bring rain to us is starting to come together in the western Gulf of Mexico.

National

The timing now looks like we’ll have a dry Thursday and a wet and stormy Friday afternoon and Friday night. Can’t say for sure yet if the Friday p.m. event will be severe. But it is for sure going to be windy. Make your plans accordingly. I wouldn’t be setting up any outdoor events for Friday after about 2 or 3 in the afternoon. Clearing comes in Saturday.

For the Super Bowl? The forecast looks wet on Saturday with clearing in Miami by Sunday. Right now the game time temps (kickoff around 6:30 p.m. on WKMG Local 6) looks to be about 67 degrees with a North wind at about 5-15 mph.

As long as it doesn’t rain, I think it’s all good. I’ll keep watching this next system and have an update later.

Stay dry!

TS

