I trust everyone had a very Merry Christmas. Now here it is Boxing Day and suddenly it FEELS like Christmas.

For everyone in Central Florida there is a Freeze Warning tonight. For Marion, Sumter, and Flagler Counties there is a Hard Freeze Warning. That means those areas will go below 28 degrees for several hours. It’s a repeat of the cold from 2 weeks ago.

The cold front has cleared all of Florida. Here is what the surface map will look like tonight by about 7 p.m.

Our front is tied to a MONSTER snow storm that is putting snow down from Tennessee and Kentucky all the way to New England. We don’t get any of the snow but do get a couple more nights of really cold air. Starting with tonight.

Overnight Sunday Into Monday Morning

The overnight low in Orlando is set to drop to 29 degrees just before sunrise tomorrow morning. That will tie the record of 29 set back in December of 1985. If you look back through the record books, December of ’85 and December of ’89 were both really cold, record-setting times. This December is going to be right on par with those.

Coupled with the tonight’s cold is the wind. Two weeks ago, when we battled the cold, the wind on the first night was nasty. Same drill this time. It will be a night to let the pool pump run, bring pets in, and cover the plants that are cold-sensitive. Keep in mind you will have to secure the covers for the sheets and blankets over those plants (I use anything I can find – bricks, rocks, heavy tools). With the winds blowing 15-20 mph with gusts up to 25 your covers won’t stay on without some help. I’m going to work on covering mine this afternoon.  I suggest you do the same.

A wind chill advisory is in effect as well. It begins tonight at 9 and goes through tomorrow morning. Wrap the plants this afternoon and yourself all night… I’m thinking I’m going to make my kiddos watch the Bogart classic Casablanca with me tonight. No need to ever leave the house.

Monday night into Tuesday morning we will drop to about 30 for a low. The record Tuesday morning (for Orlando)  is 31 from 1977… that record may fall as well.  After that we start to do a little better. By the weekend we will ring in 2011 in fine fashion with normal temperatures, fair skies, and good cheer.

I myself am still on vacation until January 3, 2011… but, of course, I can’t totally ignore the cold. I’ll keep the blog up and running. meteorologist Elizabeth Hart will have a complete breakdown on all the cold tonight on Local 6 News at 11.

Stay warm!

