I LOVE Halloween. It’s my second favorite holiday behind Christmas. I’ve always enjoyed the season. When I was a child there was nothing like the anticipation of getting my costume ready… just DYING for the sun to get low on the horizon and the time to arrive for us to head out for trick-or-treating. Of course I eventually got too old to go out knocking on doors for candy. I didn’t make that decision, my mother had to tell me. I was really shocked that she thought I was too old… now I get it, but not then.

After I started handing out candy every year instead of begging for it, I always dressed up as a vampire. I have cool fangs, a black cape and a natural hairline for the part. But I don’t do that anymore. The new age of the vampire has changed the vampire look from Dracula or Barnabas Collins to a dark-eyed forever teen like those kids in the “Twilight” movie series. I can pull off some looks… forever teen is NOT one of them.

This year I get to dress as me for Halloween. I’ll be working until about 7:30 on the newscast at Local 6. Then I drive home, see my kids for an hour, pass out some candy and head back to the studio around 9:30 to prep for the 11 o’clock newscast. It’s not as cool as dressing up as an evil character, but I’m very cool with having a job.

Speaking of that job, here’s the Halloween forecast for Central Florida.

Expect the day to be a mix of clouds and sun. Still a bit breezy with wind from the NNE between 5 and 15 mph. Rain chances are only about 20%. I really think the best shot at rain is in the afternoon between noon and 5 pm. The showers should clear before the “spooks come out for candy.” I think the closer you are to the coast the more likely you will see showers. Temps will be in the low 70s as the sun sets. Not too hot for most costumes.

Good luck and have a safe and Happy Halloween!

