“Well, it’s Groundhog Day…again.” So goes one of my favorite lines from the Bill Murray classic (Classic to me anyway:-) 1992 movie. Every year I kinda have the same reaction. In my world filled with warnings, tornadoes, hurricanes, lightning strikes and droughts I tend to not give the ground-hog much thought. To be forced to pay attention to him each year does wear a bit thin. In my past professional lives, i.e., Detroit and Columbus, Ohio, I would cringe when Punxsutawney Phil would call for 6 more weeks of winter. This year I kind of feel like Phil owes me a winter. Temps in central Florida have been closer to our late March early April average temps instead of January and February.

Tomorrow morning at sunrise the fog in Orlando probably would prevent a ground-hog from seeing his shadow. In that case that would mean an early Spring…I think that’s a safe bet.

Tomorrow (Thursday) morning looks like most of the fog will still be confined to the inland areas. However the left over smoke from so many fires, more than 30, could mix with fog most anywhere in the area.  The absolute worst threat of smoke mixing with fog looks to be along I-95 in Brevard county. Smoke is still coming from a huge planned fire…the plume from the fire was visible yesterday afternoon on radar, but not today. The smoke was so bad that lots of workers at the Space Center were told not to come to work on Wednesday.

Here’s the NWS graphic of the threat overnight and first thing Thursday morning:

 

 

 

 

 

 

Keep in mind we just finished the driest January on record for much of Central Florida. This fire season is just getting started.

 Enjoy your Ground Hog day, I’ll be back here in the morning with an update.

See you on Local 6 at 11.

